4363964

9781582344195

Nicholas The Epic Journey from Saint to Santa Claus

Nicholas The Epic Journey from Saint to Santa Claus
$16.01
$3.95 Shipping
List Price
$24.95
Discount
35% Off
You Save
$8.94

  • Condition: New
  • Provider: YourOnlineBookstore Contact
  • Provider Rating:
    88%
  • Ships From: Houston, TX
  • Shipping: Standard, Expedited

   30-day money back guarantee
$0.51
$3.95 Shipping
List Price
$24.95
Discount
97% Off
You Save
$24.44

  • Condition: Good
  • Provider: HippoBooks Contact
  • Provider Rating:
    86%
  • Ships From: Multiple Locations
  • Shipping: Standard
  • Comments: Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, thatll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included.

   30-day money back guarantee

Ask the provider about this item.

Most renters respond to questions in 48 hours or less.
The response will be emailed to you.
Cancel
  • ISBN-13: 9781582344195
  • ISBN: 1582344191
  • Publication Date: 2005
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

AUTHOR

Seal, Jeremy

SUMMARY

An elegantly written, idiosyncratic biography of Santa Claus, from his saintly origins inTurkeyto his current reign as the king of Christmas. Nicholasis a biographical travelogue tracing the evolution of one of the greatest cults of modern times--the rise of Santa Claus from his origins in Byzantine Turkey to his role as the jolly man who grants every child's wish. It is a compelling story of religious worship and strife, cultural interpretation, and mass commercialization brilliantly framed by Jeremy Seal's modern-day voyage in Santa's footsteps. Saint Nicholas, as Santa was originally known, lived and worked in Myra on the southern coast of Turkey 1,700 years ago. He became a revered figure in the Orthodox and Catholic churches, attracting devotees across the Christian world as his cult shifted westward with the centuries. The saint's bones are said to still exist, and Seal's dogged pursuit of these relics launches his quest for Santa's true lineage--one that takes him through present-day Turkey, Italy, Holland, England, America, and finally Lapland as he pieces together the history of this extraordinary man-to-myth transformation. In the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Tony Horowitz, Jeremy Seal is a natural storyteller, weaving fascinating history and intrepid travelogue into a book every bit as enchanting as its subjectSeal, Jeremy is the author of 'Nicholas The Epic Journey from Saint to Santa Claus', published 2005 under ISBN 9781582344195 and ISBN 1582344191.

[read more]

Questions about purchases?

You can find lots of answers to common customer questions in our FAQs

View a detailed breakdown of our shipping prices

Learn about our return policy

Still need help? Feel free to contact us

View college textbooks by subject
and top textbooks for college

The ValoreBooks Guarantee

The ValoreBooks Guarantee

With our dedicated customer support team, 30-day no-questions-asked return policy, and our price match guarantee, you can rest easy knowing that we're doing everything we can to save you time, money, and stress.